The Student News Site of Cypress High School

Centurion Spotlight

The Student News Site of Cypress High School

Centurion Spotlight

The Student News Site of Cypress High School

Centurion Spotlight

Check Out Our Instagram: @cypressjournalism
Sorry, there are no polls available at the moment.

Grammys 2024 Nominations

Check out the 2024 Grammy Nominations!
The 2024 Grammys will be aired on CBS and Paramount+ on February, 4th 2024.

On Friday, November 10th, 2023, nominations for the official Grammy Awards set for February 4th, 2024 were announced via live stream. Nominations for major awards include Record of the Year, Album of the Year, Song of the Year, Best New Artist, Producer of the Year, and Songwriter of the Year had the media buzzing with who they assume will win the 2024 Grammy Awards. 

The nominations for the 2024 Album of the Year were announced to be World Music Radio by Jon Batiste, the record by boygenius, Endless Summer Vacation by Miley Cyrus, Did You Know That There’s A Tunnel Under Ocean Blvd by Lana Del Rey, The Age of Pleasure by Janelle Monáe, GUTS by Olivia Rodrigo, and Midnights by Taylor Swift. According to a recent survey with some students at Cypress, 62% of students believe that 12-time Grammy winner–Taylor Swift will receive the award. Sophomore Adora Luong shares, “Some of them, I’ve definitely never heard of before…but I think I ended up thinking Midnights specifically because Taylor’s so big right now–especially with her tour and everything…there’s a lot of good albums but I feel like it just made an impact.” 

 The nominations for the 2024 Record of the Year were publicized to be Worship by Jon Batiste, Not Strong Enough by boygenius, Flowers by Miley Cyrus, What Was I Made For? [From The Motion Picture “Barbie”] by Billie Eilish, On My Mama by Victoria Monáe, Vampire by Olivia Rodrigo, Anti-Hero by Taylor Swift, and Kill Bill by SZA. Cypress students speculate that the current number one artist of the world–Taylor Swift will once again earn the place of Record of the Year with the hit song Anti-Hero

The nominations for the 2024 Song of the Year were declared to be A&W by Lana Del Rey, Anti-Hero by Taylor Swift, Butterfly by Jon Batiste, Dance The Night (From Barbie The Album) by Dua Lipa, Flowers by Miley Cyrus, Kill Bill by SZA, Vampire by Oliva Rodrigo, and What Was I Made For? [From The Motion Picture “Barbie”] by Billie Eilish. Although Record and Song of the Year sound like similar awards, Song of the Year highlights the artist’s songwriting process rather than the production of the song like Record of the Year. Cypress students theorize that Taylor Swift’s Anti-Hero will win, followed by SZA’s hit song Kill Bill as a closed second. The most recent award winner for Song of the Year was Bonnie Raitt for her song Just Like That. This achievement sparked a major debate with people in the media since many had not known of the song until that time. Many believed that artists like Taylor Swift, Beyonce, and Steve Lacy earned the award–causing a debate to see if the Grammy Awards itself was fair. 

The nominations for the 2024 Best New Artist were proclaimed to be Gracie Abrams, Fred again.., Ice Spice, Jelly Roll, Coco Jones, Noah Kahan, Victoria Monáe, and The War and Treaty. About 50% of Cypress students who responded to a survey believe that Ice Spice will be the ultimate winner of this category for this year. The 2023 Best New Artist Award was presented to Samara Joy at the beginning of this year. American jazz singer–Samara Joy was most commonly known for her song Can’t Get Out of This Mood. 

The nominations for the 2024 Producer of the Year were televised to be Jack Antonoff, Dernst “D’Mile” Emile II, Hit-Boy, Metro Boomin, and Daniel Nigro. Cypress students suspect that the producer Metro Boomin will win for his well-known projects like Am I Dreaming by Metro Boomin Featuring Roisee & A$AP Rocky, Calling by Metro Boomin Featuring NAV, A Boogie Wit Da Hoodie & Swae Lee, Creepin’ by Metro Boomin Featuring 21 Savage & The Weeknd, More M’s by Drake & 21 Savage, and many more. The 2023 Producer of the Year was given to–2024 Grammy nominee–Jack Antonoff for his work producing songs like All Too Well (10 Minute Version)(Taylor’s Version)(From the Vault) by Taylor Swift, Minions: The Rise of Gru, Part of the Band with various of artists, and Dance Fever by Florence + The Machine.

The nominations for the 2024 Songwriter of the Year were named to be Edgar Barrera, Jessie Jo Dillon, Shane McAnally, Theron Thomas, and Justin Tranter. For this year’s nominations, students were stuck on two major songwriters–Theron Thomas and Justin Tranter. Songwriter Theron Trater is most commonly known for projects like All My Life by Lil Durk Featuring J. Cole,  Been Thinking by Tyla,  Seven by Jung Kook & Latto, and many more. Justin Tranter on the other hand is most commonly known for his work from Gemini Moon by Reneé Rapp, Honey! (Are U Coming?) by Måneskin, Pretty Girls by Reneé Rapp, and many more. Previously this year, the Songwriter of the Year award was given to Tobias Jesso Jr., who helped write songs from various artists like Harry Styles, Adele, Omar Apollo, and King Princess.  

The 2024 Grammy Awards will be live-streamed on CBS Television Network and Paramount+ on Sunday, February 4th, 2024, at 5-8:30 PM. Three additional categories– Best African Music Performance, Best Alternative Jazz Album, and Best Pop Dance Recording will be making their debut in the Grammys.

Leave a Comment
More to Discover
About the Contributor
Rehansa Kulatilleke
Rehansa Kulatilleke, Distribution Chief
 Hi! My name is Rehansa and I am a junior here at Cypress! This is my first year in journalism and I can't wait to finally be a part of it! I joined journalism because I love writing and would love to write more in the future. Some fun facts about me are that I love Marvel, reading, and listening to music. Some of my favorite artists are Arctic Monkeys, Taylor Swift, and Harry Styles!
Donate to Centurion Spotlight
Our Goal

Comments (0)

All Centurion Spotlight Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *