Qatar 2022 World Cup Could Be Last Time For Some


The FIFA World Cup – Qatar 2022 is coming soon! The USA first round opponent is Wales.

by Nicolas Vega, Staff Writer

As the World Cup nears, all countries are beginning their quest to earn a trophy. Fans are looking for tickets. The soccer community is also looking at three specific teams, Argentina, Brazil, and Belgium. These teams have some of the most talented players in soccer at the moment. Argentina has Messi, the best player to ever play on a soccer field, they also have Paulo Dybala, who is a very talented young soccer player, and Ángel Di María, he is one of the best midfielders to ever play. Brazil has always had a good team but at the moment they have some of the most skillful players in the world such as Neymar Jr., Raphinha, Vini Jr., and Antony. Belgium may not have many youngsters but they still have some of the most dominant players in the league like Kevin De Bruyne and Eden Hazard

The World Cup consists of eight group stages: Group A- Qatar, Ecuador, Senegal, Netherlands. Group B- England, IR Iran, USA, Wales. Group C- Argentina, Saudi Arabia, Mexico, Poland. Group D- France, Australia, Denmark, Tunisia. Group E- Spain, Costa Rica, Germany, Japan. Group F- Belgium, Canada, Morocco, Croatia. Group G- Brazil, Serbia, Switzerland, Cameroon. Group H- Portugal, Ghana, Uruguay, Korea Republic. This year every team has at least one challenge and has trained in specific ways just to face those challenges. 

But there may be a set back for choosing Qatar as the host site. They have set instructions for World Cup fans on how to behave while attending the games and staying in Qatar. They include: no public display of affection, no pork, and no alcoholic beverages. These provisions carry a maximum penalty of seven years’ imprisonment. Both men and women are criminalized under this law.

On another note, all players from different parts of the world are coming to fight for their trophy. They all share a stage and have the same goal. But the community isn’t focused only on every team, they are focused on the players that have announced that they will be playing their last World Cup this year, such as Cristiano Ronaldo, Leo Messi, Neymar Jr., Luiz Suarez, Edinson Cavani, Robert Lewandowski, and sadly many more. Many fans are focused, especially Ronaldo and Messi. They are both known as the greatest players to have ever played, but neither has won the World Cup, which means this is their last chance. 


Fifa World Cup 

USA vs. Wales 

Mon, November 21, 11:00 a.m.